30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 5: Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

30 Day Anime Challenge

This post is part of The 30 Day Anime Challenge Series alongside the Cosmic Anvil Kickstarter campaign. Click here to read the introduction, and click here to check out and support the campaign to help us fund the printing and distribution of our first collected volume of our manga-inspired comic series, Age of Revolution.


Jess Hardcastle Marketing Whizz Kid

I can’t really think of any anime I’m actually ashamed to say that I’ve enjoyed so I think I may have to skip over this one! *Sorry!*  As I’ve carefully selected the anime I have watched so far, there’s nothing I’m ashamed to say I’ve seen yet… Maybe that’s a good thing, though?


Hannah Collins Co-Founder and Artist

I’m ashamed to say that unlike Jess, I had a few too many choices to pick between for this one! Oh boy. Let’s face it though: there’s a lot of great anime out there, and there’s a lot of bad anime too. But, if you don’t watch the bad, then you have nothing to measure the good against, right? Or at least that’s how I justify it…

My pick for this one is a series that I watched because I wanted to find more anime with LGBT+ characters, and of course, ended up in dangerous Yaoi/Yuri/Hentai territory pretty quickly! Feeling lost, I asked for a recommendation from one of my LGBT+ nerd friends, who recommended Gravitation – a 13-part series about a rocky love story between aspiring teen pop star Shuichi Shindou and aloof romance novelist Eiri Yuki, set in the late 90s/early 00s.

Gravitation Cosmic Anvil 30 Day Anime Challenge

Shuichi and Yuki.

So what’s so shameful about it other than the relentless power-pop numbers in frilly pirate shirts? Well, fans may disagree with me here, but I found Shuichi and Yuki’s relationship very problematic, and often borderline emotionally abusive on Yuki’s part! The dynamic of their relationship is Yuki as the older, dominant one and Shuichi as the younger, subservient one, which may work fine in some relationships, but Shuichi’s teenage naivety (this being his first adult relationship) made him very vulnerable and susceptible to Yuki’s hot-and-cold bouts of love and hate.

Gravitation Cosmic Anvil 30 Day Anime Challenge

Yuki surprises Shuichi.

Shuichi also behaves exactly as stereotypes dictate of someone being domestically abused – wrought with the knowledge that he is in love with someone who constantly hurts him, he cannot help but keep accepting Yuki’s apologies and stay loyal to him no matter how far away he pushes him, or his friends tell him he should leave him. Not a great first impression of an adult non-heterosexual romance in an anime, I have to say.

Despite all of this… I kept watching it. I think I honestly wanted to find out what would happen to these two in the end. If Shuichi would realise how much of a dick Yuki was and leave him; or if Yuki would see the error of his ways and respect Shuichi more. I guess despite all its flaws, it really did make me care enough about these two to see it through to the end.

Honourable Mentions: Inu x Boku SS, Yu-Gi-Oh!Vampire Knight, High School of the Dead


Huw Williams CO-Founder and Writer

Now, I’m not actually ashamed of any anime that I watch, and I’ll happily tell you that I watch the good, the crap and the bizarre. However, for the sake of this post, I guess I’ll have to go with… Tokyo Mew Mew.

Tokyo Mew Mew

Tokyo Mew Mew

Tokyo Mew Mew focuses on five girls infused with the DNA of rare animals that gives them special powers and allows them to transform into “Mew Mews.” Led by Ichigo (The one in pink), the girls protect the earth from aliens who wish to “reclaim” it. In their down-time, all five girls work in a cafe, as the owners of the cafe (the two scientists who turned the girls into Mew Mews) use it as a cover to guide the girls during their superhero ventures.

I’m not so much ashamed of liking or watching this anime, but more ashamed of how into it I got. With Cardcaptor Sakura I was always frustrated with the filler, however, with Tokyo Mew Mew I found myself caring a little too much about the romantic subplot. I really wanted Ichigo to get with Masaya, they are meant of each other, GODDAMN IT!

There is nothing more perfect than this.

There is nothing more perfect than this.

On the other hand, the action is pretty cool, the villains have sympathetic motives, and the humor is hilarious. So, I shouldn’t be ashamed of the anime, just myself for getting way too emotionally invested…

Honorable Mentions: Yu-Gi-Oh!, Bayblade, Spider Riders, Duel Masters, Bakugan Battle Brawlers.


 Written by The Cosmic Anvil Team.

Check out our own Welsh-manga (or ‘Wanga’) series, AGE OF REVOLUTION on our official site and Comixology! And if you want to join the fight to get the AGE OF REVOLUTION Volume printed check out our Kickstarter page!

Kickstarter age of revolution volume one cosmic anvil new reward tiers added

Kickstarter new reward tier £15 pledge cosmic anvil

kickstarter age of revolution cosmic anvil new reward tiers pledge comic book comic strip art commission

 

One thought on “30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 5: Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Anime Challenge – Day 5: Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed | Huw's Reviews

Leave a Reply

